Making Democracy Work

Calendar

The LWVCC Calendar includes League-sponsored meetings and events for the public and League members, as well as key dates for local government and elections.

Date & Time        Place        Description
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Evening
Alcott School
Concord, MA
Voter Registration at Back to School Night. At the Alcott School. Contact VoterService@lwvcc.org for more information
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
5:30pm - 7:30pm
  CCTV Field Production Class/Training.
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Evening
Alcott School
Concord, MA
Voter Registration at Back to School Night. At the Alcott School. Contact VoterService@lwvcc.org for more information
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Evening
Thoreau School
Concord, MA
Voter Registration at Back to School Night. At the Thoreau School. Contact VoterService@lwvcc.org for more information
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Evening
Willard School
Concord, MA
Voter Registration at Back to School Night. At the Willard School. Contact VoterService@lwvcc.org for more information
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
TBD
  ASC Meeting.
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Evening
Sanborn Middle School
Concord, MA
Voter Registration at Back to School Night. At the Sanborn School. Contact VoterService@lwvcc.org for more information
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Evening
Carlisle Elementary School
Carlisle, MA
Voter Registration at Parents' Night. At the Carlisle Elementary School. Contact VoterService@lwvcc.org for more information
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
9am
320 Lowell Rd., Concord Board Meeting.
Sunday, October 5, 2014
2:00-4:00pm
Willard Elementary School
185 Powder Mill Rd
Concord, MA 01742
LWV Federal and State Legislative Candidates' Forum. This League forum will feature the candidates for U.S. House of Representatives (MA 3rd Congressional District), State Senator (3rd Middlesex District) and State Representative (14th Middlesex District). Click here for details. Contact VoterService@lwvcc.org.
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
 
  Last Day to Register to Vote in Nov. 4 State Election. Concord and Carlisle Town Clerks' offices will stay open until 8:00 p.m. for voter registration.
Sunday, October 19, 2014
2:00-3:30pm
Willard Elementary School
185 Powder Mill Rd
Concord, MA 01742
LWV State Treasurer and Auditor Candidates' Forum. This League forum will feature the candidates for Massachusetts State Treasurer and Auditor. Click here for details. Contact VoterService@lwvcc.org.
Friday, October 24, 2014
7:30-9:30pm
Tri-Con Church, 54 Walden Street, Concord "Climate Solutions: Meeting the Challenge" Speaker Series presents The Real Dirt on Climate Change and Food Sufficiency. "Agriculture in New England is dying. Quite true. Agriculture in New England is being born. Equally true. Two different agricultures." Professor John E. Carroll

Professor and author John Carroll

What will it take to ensure food sufficiency and farm sustainability in New England as climate change advances? John Carroll, Professor of Natural Resources from the University of New Hampshire , will speak about the rising movement towards small scale, sustainable agriculture in New England and how this movement can soften the blows inflicted upon us by climate change.

Carroll's long term research project at U.N.H. is entitled: "Infrastructural Bases for Agricultural Sustainability in New England: University Farms and Town Agricultural Commissions" This project assesses the region's capability to feed itself and to find ways to increase the quantity of food which it produces for regional consumption. It seeks to pinpoint infrastructural needs within the region to accomplish that goal, with emphasis on the university farms of the six land grant universities. While he is an excellent researcher and teacher, Carroll is always mindful of the moral and spiritual implications of how we produce food along with the facts and figures.

John Carroll has written ten great books, including "Sustainability and Spirituality" as well as a trilogy about food and farming:"The Wisdom of Small Farms and Local Food; Aldo Leopold's Land Ethic and Sustainable Agriculture";and "Pastures of Plenty: The Future of Food, Agriculture and Environmental Conservation in New England" and league logo"The Real Dirt: Toward Food Sufficiency and Farm Sustainability in New England".

The "Climate Solutions: Meeting the Challenge" Speaker Series is co-sponsored by six local organization that share a common belief that finding ways to resolve the climate crisis is critical for the survival of all life on this planet: ConcordCAN!, The League of Women Voters of Concord-Carlisle, the Social Action Community at First Parish in Concord, Musketaquid Arts and the Environment, Trinitarian-Congregational Church, and Trinity Episcopal Church.

Saturday, November 1, 2014
TBD
TBD Sustainable Middlesex forum.
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
7:00am-8:00pm
Polling locations State Election. Please vote! Be informed. Click here for personalized voting info and candidates.
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
9:00am
89 Crescent Rd., Concord Board Meeting.
Friday, November 7, 2014
9;15-11:00am
Fowler Library First Friday Conversations.
Friday, November 14, 2014
9:30-11:30am
TBD Ed Committee Meeting.
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
TBD
TBD ASC meeting.
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
9:00am
1360 Monument St., Concord Board Meeting.
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
12:00-2:00pm
1360 Monument St., Concord Member Lunch.
Friday, December 5, 2014
9:15-11:00am
Fowler Library First Friday Conversations.
Monday, December 8, 2014
TBD
TBD Concord Town Warrant opens.
Friday, December 12, 2014
9:30-11:30am
TBD Ed Committee meeting.
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
TBD
TBD ASC meeting.
Monday, January 5, 2015
TBD
TBD Concord Town Warrant closes.
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
9:00am
1404 Main St., Concord Board Meeting.
Friday, January 9, 2015
9:15-11:00am
Fowler Library Second Friday Conversations.
Friday, January 9, 2015
9:30-11:30am
TBD Ed Committee Meeting.
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
TBD
TBD ASC meeting.
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
9:00am
80 Hunters Ridge Rd., Concord Board Meeting.
Friday, February 6, 2015
9:15-11:00am
Fowler Library First Friday Conversations.
Friday, February 13, 2015
9:30-11:30am
TBD Ed Committee meeting.
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
TBD
TBD ASC meeting.
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
9:00am
41 Canterbury Ct., Carlisle Board Meeting.
Friday, March 6, 2015
9:15-11:00am
Fowler Library First Friday Conversations.
Friday, March 13, 2015
9:30-11:30am
TBD Ed Committee meeting.
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
TBD
TBD ASC meeting.
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
9:00am
57 Sudbury Rd., Concord Board Meeting.
Friday, April 10, 2015
9:15-11:00am
Fowler Library Second Friday Conversations.
Friday, April 10, 2015
9:30-11:30am
TBD Ed Committee meeting.
Sunday, April 12, 2015-Thursday, April 16, 2015
TBD
CCHS Concord Town Meeting.
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
TBD
TBD ASC meeting.
Friday, May 1, 2015
9:15-11:00am
Fowler Library First Friday Conversations.
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
9:00am
342 Sudbury Rd., Concord Board meeting.
Friday, May 8, 2015
9:30-11:30am
TBD Ed committee meeting.
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
9:00am
1360 Monument Rd., Concord Old/New Board Meeting.